← back to glossary ← back to glossary

Soviet Occupation Zone

The Soviet Occupation Zone was one of the four occupation zones created in Germany by the allies after World War II. At the Yalta Conference in 1945, the Allies agreed on the division of Germany’s territory into four occupational zones with Soviet Union being responsible for the Eastern part of Germany. The Soviet Occupation Zone was managed by the Soviet Military Administration in Germany. In 1949, the German Democratic Republic was founded on the territory of the Soviet Occupation zone.