← back to glossary ← back to glossary


The Jewish dietary rules are called kashrut (Hebrew). The laws of kashrut define what food is considered kosher – which means fit to eat – or not kosher, and is therefore prohibited to eat. The rules divide food into different food groups. Cloven hooves and ruminants, for example beef or the meat of sheep or goats are considered kosher meats. According to the rules of kashrut, observant Jews are not allowed to eat the meat of other animals, for example pork or horse or camel meat. Since the consumption of blood is considered not kosher, there are regulations for the slaughter of animals. In the kosher slaughter process an animal is supposed to lose as much blood as possible as fast as possible. In addition, meat and dairy products always have to be separated and are not allowed to be consumed together. Thus, people who live according to the rules of kashrut need to have two sets of cooking equipment in their households.