← back to glossary ← back to glossary

Federal Foreign Office

The Federal Foreign Office (Auswärtiges Amt – AA) is the foreign ministry of the Federal Republic of Germany. The Federal Foreign Office’s headquarters are situated in Berlin, with another residence in the FRG’s former capital Bonn. The Federal Foreign Office is responsible for the relationship between Germany and other states and thus for Germany’s foreign and EU policy. The office further manages more than 200 diplomatic representations all over the world, including embassies and consulates. The foreign minister serves as the head of the Federal Foreign Office.