← back to glossary ← back to glossary

European Economic Community

The European Economic Community (EEC) was established between West Germany, Italy, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg in 1957 with the Treaties of Rome and was effective since 1958. The EEC aimed to create a single market and economic policy between the member states through free movement of goods, services, people and capital. The signatory states abolished customs duty between the member states and created a single customs union towards other states. They further introduced the freedom of movement for citizens of EEC countries for the single purpose of seeking employment in another EEC country. With the Treaty of Maastricht, the EEC became part of the EU in 1992 and was renamed European Union. This led to a freedom of movement for all EU citizens (with specific limitations) regardless of their employment (s. Freedom of movement).