← back to glossary ← back to glossary

Deutsche Mark

The Deutsche Mark (D-Mark or DM) was the official currency of the Federal Republic of Germany. The Deutsche Mark was first introduced to the three Western German occupation zones in 1948 and was replaced by the Euro in 2002. One Mark was divided into 100 Pfennigs (Pfennige).